PANELS

A panel is a gathering of presentations focussing on a specific topic, which can be either inside a traditional section / discipline or transdisciplinary. It is organized by one or more convenors, in collaboration with the Congress secretary (CopticCongress2012@uniroma1.it) and should comprise no less than four papers.

LIST OF PROPOSED PANELS

Title: Aspects_of_Early_Islamic_Egypt. Panel Convenors: Jennifer Cromwell (jennifer.cromwell@mq.edu.au) and Arietta Papaconstantinou (a.s.papaconstantinou@reading.ac.uk)

Title: Bawit. A Monastic Community, Its Structure and Its Texts. Panel Convenor: Gesa Schenke (Leiden/Oxford: gesa.schenke@orinst.ox.ac.uk)

Title: Coptic Religious and Political Life in Contemporary Egypt: Recent Scholarly Developments. Panel Convenor: Febe Armanios (farmanio@middlebury.edu)

Title: Late Antique Thebes. Panel Convenors: Malcolm Choat (malcolm.choat@mq.edu.au) and Jennifer Cromwell (jennifer.cromwell@mq.edu.au)

Title: Writing and Communication in Egyptian Monasticism. Panel Convenors: Malcolm Choat (malcolm.choat@mq.edu.au), Mariachiara Giorda (mariachiara.giorda@acmos.net).

Title: The Reconstruction and Edition of Coptic Biblical Manuscripts. Panel Convenor: Frank Feder (feder@bbaw.de)

Title: Monastic Material Cultures: Image, Site, Text. Panel Convenors: Elisabeth Bolman (ebolman@temple.edu) and Stephen J. Davis (stephen.davis@yale.edu)

Title: Archaeological Approaches to Museum Collections. Panel Convenors: C. Fluck (SMBK-SMB) c.fluck@smb.spk-berlin.de and E. R. O.Connell (BM) eoconnell@thebritishmuseum.ac.uk